Governance and Leadership

Augustana has a congregational form of government. This means that all decision-making authority is vested in the congregation, when a meeting of all members with voting privileges is called and conducted according to the constitution and bylaws, usually in January or February each year (and at other times for specific purposes). The decisions the congregational assembly can make include calling – or terminating the call – of a pastor, approving the annual budget; acquiring, holding title to and selling, leasing or disposing of real property; electing the congregation council; and terminating our relationship to the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

In between annual meetings, the elected congregational council makes decisions and functions as the highest decision-making body.

      2017 Congregational Council

Randall Boe
David Bylsma
Thomas Chacko
Manuel Caceres
Lou Costanza
Roya Ellis
Dawn Fenton, Vice President & Chair
Ronald Granados
Ronald Mueller
Tommie L. Robinson, Jr.
Idalia Flores Romero
Gregory F. Scholtz, Congregation Secretary
Craig Shireman
Joy Stancil
Denise Walker

The council is made up of Augustana members elected by the congregation and has general oversight over, and fiduciary responsibility for, the affairs of the congregation. The council generally meets on the second Wednesday of each month. Should decisions need to be made between meetings, the council has delegated authority to an executive committee consisting of David Bylsma, Dawn Fenton, Pastor Cathy Rosenholtz, Greg Scholtz, and Denise Walker.

Augustana members are free to contact any member of the council in person to discuss matters of interest or concern. Or, if you prefer contact by email, you may contact the president of the council, Pastor Cathy Rosenholtz, or the vice-president/chair, Dawn Fenton.


Nominating Committee

The nominating committee recruits candidates for open positions on the congregational council each year. Members of the committee are elected by the congregational assembly at its annual meeting.

Other Committees

Other committees of the congregational council carry out the leadership for and operation of the congregation’s various programs/ministries. These committees are: